Relation extrusion speed - printing speed

General discussion of 3D printers

Relation extrusion speed - printing speed

Postby Roel » Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:15 pm

Hello all,

Currently I am working on an experimental investigation directly related to 3D printing. I have an open issue and I know someone should know the answer but I can not find it on the internet nor in any literature yet. So hopefully you can help me. Here it comes:

Does anyone know the (general) algorithm of the slicing software to calculate the filament extrusion speed from the (input) printing speed? I am not a software expert so I am not able to check the sourcecode. Normally I would expect the following:

extrusion speed * area of the filament = printing speed * nozzle diameter * layer thickness.

Still I am not sure if this is really used in the software.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Best regards,
Roel

3D printer: MaukCC Cartesio
Software: Repetier Host in comb. with slic3r
Roel

Re: Relation extrusion speed - printing speed

Postby cvoinescu » Sat Jun 21, 2014 9:42 pm

It's actually more complicated than that.

It started with the slicer outputting the desired length of extruded filament. You had to calibrate your extruder axis steps-per-mm in steps-per-mm-of-extruded-material, which was hard to do accurately. It depended on the nozzle diameter, obviously, but also on temperature, material type (PLA vs ABS), and even material color (pigments affect flow, and some colors of nominally the same material are actually different -- clear and black ABS tend to be different from all other colors). This method is no longer used.