New ORD Bot Hadron build (ATI kit)

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

New ORD Bot Hadron build (ATI kit)

Postby fulg » Wed May 06, 2015 11:39 pm

Hello,

I have recently ordered a new ORD Bot Hadron kit from Automation Tech, I have yet to receive it. I am not sure if there are still many active users on the forum (I am quite late to the ball game!), but this seemed like the best place to document my build once I get all the parts. This is my first 3D printer so I expect lots of new, possibly frustrating experiences... I build and fly RC helicopters all the time, so I am used to cryptic instructions and weird hardware problems. I work as a software engineer (for close to 20 years) so debugging software problems should not be an issue.

Here is what I have on order:
- ORD Bot Hadron mechanical kit from ATI (with the extra anti-wobble Z brackets)
- Azteeg X5 Mini from Panucatt Devices
- SeeMeCNC EZStruder with NEMA17 stepper
- E3D V6 Lite hotend (from Filastruder)
- MK2b heatbed with a machined Aluminium build surface (ebay)
- Cork isolation plate for the heatbed (RepRap.me)
- Mechanical endstops (RepRap.me)
- Hall effect endstops (Ooznest)
- 12V 29A MeanWell power supply (ebay)

I chose the Azteeg X5 over the usual Arduino-based platforms because it is clear that the Arduino is right at the limit, there is no more room for expansion or new features. I also really wanted the quiet operation of 1/32 microstepping. That RUMBA board with those new TMC2100 stepper drivers looked quite tempting, but I'm pretty sure I made the right call going with a Smoothieware-based solution. I feared the full-size Smoothieboard wouldn't fit on the top panel of the ORD Bot so I settled for the X5 mini instead. My only regret is that this made me give up the Ethernet port, but maybe I can hook up some kind of WiFi support (with additional hardware) later.