Grand Unified Theories of CNC/MakerSlide devices

General Forum Stuff...Introduce yourself

Grand Unified Theories of CNC/MakerSlide devices

Postby neocalm » Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:19 pm

I am a complete newbie just getting ready to dive into my first ORD Bot Hadron build and then flipping through the forum said to myself "Hey, a 2.x Laser Cutter.. that's exactly what I should be building ..." and then thinking to myself "Why isn't there a CNC Mill based on Makerslide?" - then realizing it was a forum away at Shapeoko. (I'll ignore for the moment the CNC Router, Plasma Cutter, Vinyl Cutter/Plotter, and 3D Scanner that would perfect my garage.)

My eyes are probably bigger than my stomach but even if/when I build all three devices I cannot see using them simultaneously.

I am exploring the sharing of easy-to-share parts between the three. I could tolerate about seven minutes of unskilled unplugging/plugging, and a few less minutes of unscrewing/screwing. I am not talking about squaring / skilled replacement of parts sharing so I'm pretty much assured of buying a lot of Makerslide! :)

This would probably involve some quick-release harnesses and/or specialized mounts/plugs but sharing parts might rationalize one higher quality part (plus this overhead) over three cheaper parts.

I just wanted to make sure as I get started on this - has someone done this already?

Chris
neocalm

Re: Grand Unified Theories of CNC/MakerSlide devices

Postby lasersafe1 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:32 pm

No.
lasersafe1

Postby awesomenesser » Mon Sep 10, 2012 3:42 am

neocalm wrote:...
This would probably involve some quick-release harnesses and/or specialized mounts/plugs but sharing parts might rationalize one higher quality part (plus this overhead) over three cheaper parts.

I just wanted to make sure as I get started on this - has someone done this already?

Chris