Question: Using Bed as Output

General discussion of 3D printers

Question: Using Bed as Output

Postby bdring » Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:44 am

I have a Ramps 1.4 and Marlin on my Quantum Delta. I don't have a heated bed. I want to use the bed output to run some LEDs. The diagram is a little confusing on the bed output suggesting it is D8 and D11. I think it is really D8.

ramps.png
ramps.png (101.78 KiB) Viewed 11675 times


I would love to do M42 P8 S255, but it is not working. I removed it from SENSITIVE_PINS in pins.h.

Any suggestions?
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Question: Using Bed as Output

Postby orcinus » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:46 am

Have you tried de-assigning it in the board pin definitions as well?

Code: Select all
#if MOTHERBOARD == 33 || MOTHERBOARD == 34
...
#define HEATER_2_PIN       -1   
#define TEMP_0_PIN         13   // ANALOG NUMBERING
#define TEMP_1_PIN         15   // ANALOG NUMBERING
#define TEMP_2_PIN         -1   // ANALOG NUMBERING
#define HEATER_BED_PIN     8    // BED
#define TEMP_BED_PIN       14   // ANALOG NUMBERING


(Set HEATER_BED_PIN to -1)
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Question: Using Bed as Output

Postby flurin » Mon Apr 22, 2013 9:51 am

If you "#define MOTHERBOARD 33 or 34" in Configuration.h, than D8 is the output for the heated bed.
D11 is a mistake in the diagram above.

Ramps1.4TerminalBlock.JPG
Ramps1.4TerminalBlock.JPG (10.5 KiB) Viewed 11647 times
User avatar
flurin
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:09 pm
Location: Switzerland

De-assigning

Postby bdring » Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:38 pm

Have you tried de-assigning it in the board pin definitions as well?


No...I'll give that a try tonight.
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Works!

Postby bdring » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:03 pm

De-assigning did not work. it caused and error when compiling.

It works now under my former settings. I might have had a typo in the G-code, like a lower case letter. I think all you need to do is remove HEATER_BED_PIN from SENSITIVE_PINS (near end of pins.h). If I enter M42 P8 S255 it flashes briefly. Something is turning it off. If I type M42 P8 S254, or any Snnn except S255 it works fine. That works good enough for me :)
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Question: Using Bed as Output

Postby orcinus » Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:02 pm

De-assigning did not work. it caused and error when compiling.


Wow, that's pretty weird, considering more than a few of pre-defined board configurations have it set to -1 by default.
I'm guessing there's something expecting the bed if it detects MOTHERBOARD is set to 3 / 33 / 34.

Glad you've got it to work, tho!
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am


Return to 3D Printer General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

cron